Author Topic: Tax Preparation Training  (Read 1234 times)

Chris

• View Profile
Tax Preparation Training
« on: August 07, 2018, 10:11:17 AM »
With the goal of launching a tax preparation & planning business next year, I'm exploring training options, certifications, and how to set myself up for success.  Other than preparing my own tax returns, I have no prior experience or knowledge in this area. There are a few routes I could go:

1. Tax Preparation Training: Through franchises such as Liberty Tax or H&R Block. Training cost is minimal. Time commitment is approximately 10-12 weeks and 40-60 hours. At the end, a participant may get a certificate for completion.

2.  Annual Filing Season Participant:  Issued by the IRS, they recognize individuals who obtain 18 hours of training and pass a tax law refresher test. This is not exactly a certification, but it's recognition from the IRS that you've continued your education in the field.  There are many private organizations out there that offer the 18 hours of training, many are under $100.

3. Enrolled Agent (EA):  Requirement to pass 3 exams.  I've heard good things about the The Fast Forward Academy training, which is $450.  Looks to include 10 hours of material, and I'd probably have to invest some additional hours studying.

Would love to hear thoughts from the group!  With the amount of hours required for options 1 and 2, I'd rather put that time towards option 3 as it gets me the best credentials. BUT, is it practical for someone with no prior experience to go straight for the EA?

KeithTax

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Tax Preparation Training
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 08:40:47 PM »