Author Topic: W2 or 1099  (Read 1344 times)

Calis

• View Profile
W2 or 1099
« on: October 16, 2017, 10:04:36 AM »
Hi,

I currently work as a contractor of sorts. I get paid a rate for each session of therapy that I provide. I am not afforded any type of benefits (i.e. health insurance or 401k). And I currently work anywhere from 4-10 hours/week for this agency. If I don't provide a session of therapy I don't get paid. Currently, the agency that employees me sends me a w2 at the end of the year however, I feel that based on our work agreement, I am more of a contractor and should be issued a 1099. I think I know the answers to these questions but I want to double check. Can I write off expenses such as car repairs, therapy materials purchased and mileage used to get from one client to the next if I am a w2 employee? Would a w2 or a 1099 benefit me most? Thanks for your help!

Calis

Maccountant

• View Profile
Re: W2 or 1099
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 08:24:18 AM »
There is alot of debate over what qualifies a worker from being an independent contractor versus an employee.

Check out this page on the IRS website:
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/understanding-employee-vs-contractor-designation

Basically there are 20 different factors that boil down to three different areas of scrutinization:
- Behavior Control
- Financial Control
- Relationship

The easiest and safest path for employers to take is to error on the side of caution and consider you an employee. Hence the W-2 you receive. As a W-2 employee you can still deduct unreimbursed work expenses on form 2106 when you file your taxes, but you will only be able to deduct a portion of the expenses if you itemize. If you take the standard deduction you will not receive a benefit.

I would say you have two options for your situation: